Financing Ghana’s Nuclear Power Programme: The Way Forward

count down


The Ghana Nuclear Conference brings together all experts, researchers, scientists,
business executives both locally and at the international level to discuss opportunities available to finance the country’s Nuclear Power Programme.
The maiden conference would include keynote addresses by renowned experts as well as presentations, sessions, and video exhibitions.
Speakers will share specific experiences of financing models for nuclear power projects and modern technologies of nuclear utilization for increased economic development.

Conference Topics

Nuclear Reactor, Materials & Fuel
Financing the Construction of a Nuclear Power Plant in Ghana
Nuclear Power, Radiation & Radioactive Waste
Nuclear Safety and Security

2 keynote Speakers

Mr Mzubanzi Bismark
Tyobeka,Mr Noh Baek-sik

Organising Committee Members

Mr Henry Teinor, CEO, Energy Media Group and Chairman of Event Organizers.
Bellona-Gerard Vittor-Quao
(Volta River Authority)


List of Top Professionals in their Respective fields gracing the conference.

  • Hon Peter Amewu

    Minister of Energy

  • Mr Yukiya Amano

    Director-General, IAEA

  • Dr Mzubanzi.B.Tyobeka

    CEO, NNR

  • Mr Xavier Ursat

    Vice President, EDF Group

  • Dr Shunsuke Kondo


  • Ms Agneta Rising

    Director General,WNA

  • Mr Kirill Komarov

    First Deputy CEO,, ROSATOM

  • Prof J. B. Nyarko

    Director-General, GAEC

  • Phumzile Tshelane


  • Mr Noh Baek-sik

    Vice President,KHNP

  • Mr Alexei Likhachev

    Director-General, ROSATOM

  • Mr .W.Owuraku Aidoo

    Deputy Minister of Energy

  • Mr Petteri Tiippana

    Director General, STUK


August 20-22,2019 / 8:30 - 9:30 Registration

Mr William Owuraku Aidoo

Deputy Minister of Energy in charge of Power, Ghana

Overview of the Energy Sector Landscape of Ghana


About Mr William Owuraku Aidoo

William Owuraku Aidoo (MP) is the current Deputy Minister of Energy in charge of Power. He is also the Member of Parliament for Afigya Kwabre South in the Ashanti Region.

Mr Yukiya Amano

Director General, International Atomic Energy Agency (IAEA)

IAEA Statement on Nuclear Power Programmes.


About Mr Yukiya Amano

Yukiya Amano is a Japanese diplomat and the current Director General of the International Atomic Energy Agency, having been elected to the position in July 2009. Amano previously served as an international civil servant for the United Nations and its subdivisions.



Mr Mzubanzi Bismark Tyobeka

CEO, National Nuclear Regulator (NNR), South Africa

This session will discuss prevailing challenges in setting up resilient institutional infrastructure for nuclear power such as operation of nuclear power plants, nuclear safety and security, stakeholder participation and public acceptance.


Keynote Speaker

Moderator: Evans Mensah, Journalist, Multimedia
About Dr. Mzubanzi Bismark Tyobeka

Dr. Tyobeka has obtained several national and international qualifications in the nuclear field which include aMaster of Science in Applied Radiation Science and Technology, University of North West; a Master of Science in Nuclear Engineering, Pennsylvania State University; and a Doctor of Philosophy in Nuclear Engineering, Pennsylvania State University.

Mr Xavier Ursat

Group Senior Executive Vice President, New Nuclear Projects and Engineering, EDF Group



About Mr Xavier Ursat

Currently Chief Executive in charge of Engineering Management and New Nuclear Projects at EDFGraduated from École Polytechnique School and Télécom Paris, Xavier Ursat started his career at EDF. Since 2015, he is in charge of Engineering Management and New Nuclear Projects at EDF.

Mr Petteri Tiippana

Director General, Radiation and Nuclear Safety Authority (STUK), Finland



About Mr Petteri Tiippana

Mr. Tiippana was born in Joensuu, Finland, on 11th July, 1972. He completed his studies of power plant engineering with a Master of Science degree at Lappeenranta University of Technology (LUT) in 1997.Mr. Tiippana joined the Finnish Radiation and Nuclear Safety Authority in May 1996 and has had various positions at STUK during his career.

Mr Shunsuke Kondo

Former Chairman, Japan Atomic Energy Commission and President, Nuclear Waste Management Organization of Japan (NUMO), Japan



About Mr Shunsuke Kondo

Former Chairman, Japan Atomic Energy Commission and President, Nuclear Waste Management Organization of Japan (NUMO), Japan

Ms Agneta Rising

Director General, World Nuclear Association (WNA)



About Ms Agneta Rising

Ms. Rising joined Vattenfall AB (then Swedish State Power Board) in 1980. Her career there centred on radiological protection. Within the Vattenfall Group, Rising was the leading specialist on nuclear energy and the environment.Agneta Rising became chairman of the Uranium Institute in May 2000, and presided over its transformation into the World Nuclear Association in 2001.

Prof Benjamin J. B. Nyarko

Director-General, GAEC



About Prof Benjamin J. B. Nyarko

Prof. Benjamin Jabez Botwe Nyarko was born on 23rd January 1962. Prof. Nyarko graduated from the Kwame Nkrumah University of Science and Technology, Kumasi, in 1990 with a B.Sc. (Hon.) degree in Physics. He was awarded Master of Philosophy degree in Physics in 1999 from the University of Ghana, Legon and a Ph.D degree in Physics through International Atomic Energy Agency (IAEA) “sandwich” programme between Dalhousie University, Halifax, Canada and University of Cape Coast, Cape coast, Ghana in 2007.

Mr Kirill Komarov

First Deputy CEO for Corporate Development and International Business, ROSATOM, Russia



About Mr Kirill Komarov

Mr. Kirill Borisovich Komarov has been an Executive Director of Directorate for Nuclear Power Complex at Rosatom State Nuclear Energy Corporation since April 2011. Mr. Komarov serves as a Director Executive at Joint Stock Company Atomic Energy Power Corporation. Mr. Komarov has been First Deputy Chief Executive Officer for Corporate Development and International Business at ROSATOM State Atomic Energy Corporation since February 2015 and serves as its and Member of Management ...

Phumzile Tshelane

CEO, Nuclear Energy Corporation of South Africa (NESCA)



Moderated Discussion,Q&A / Lunch

Topic: Challenges in Developing Nuclear Power Infrastructure

Mr Noh Baek-sik

M, Executive Vice President, Korea Hydro and Nuclear Power Co., Ltd. (KHNP), Republic of Korea

This session will explore innovative technologies in nuclear power plant operations.


Keynote RemarksBeginner

About Mr Noh Baek-sik

Operational Excellence Jury Member Executive Vice President, Global Business Division Korea Hydro & Nuclear Power Company Working Experience: 2017 ~ Executive Vice President, Global Business Division,2015 ~ 2016 Vice President, Global Strategy Office,2013 ~ 2015 Director General, Shin-Hanul Nuclear Power Plant,2011 ~ 2013 Vice President , Overseas Department,2009 ~ 2010 Deputy General Manager, Maintenance Planning Department. Honors : 2009 Ministerial Award

Mr Alexey Likhachev

Director-General, ROSATOM



About Mr Alexey Likhachev

Alexey Likhachev is Director General of ROSATOM. He assumed office in October 2016. Mr. Likhachev has since been responsible for overseeing the entire spectrum of the state corporation’s activities.Before joining ROSATOM, Mr. Likhachev worked in the Ministry of Economic Development of Russia, where he held a wide variety of leadership positions. He joined the ministry in 2007.

Moderated Discussion | Q&A

Concluding Statement by the President of the Conference



Kindly Note: To download the conference brochure, please fill the Registration required fields and submit the form.

download pdf


LABADI Beach Hotel



Accra, Ghana
50 min (36.5 km) Drive via Accra - Tema Motorway/N1

Accomodation Alternatives

List of Hotels in Accra that offer great hospitality.


Please click on the button and fill the registration form with your details


Our cherished partners